I was asked recently- “What is a Yoga Teacher – what does that mean?”

I was asked this question recently …

A Yoga Teacher – what does that mean?

Reflecting: #leayogathoughts

Teaching begins as a journey within self, a love of yoga, hours of learning about the human form and movement, ongoing training and cost not unlike any other professional.

Teaching time is spent sharing this experience with others, which Includes creating a welcoming space, mental preparation to find peace and clarity -taking a moment before students arrive to calm and centre before class.

I am the observer as students arrive and we introduce each other – I reflect on class sequencing, which music playlists I created will suit, or just allow the sounds of nature to filter through, taking in how I feel and energy from students before I begin.

The observer returns as I teach, watching how each student is moving and placing themselves in the pose based on instruction.

Slowing it down or changing instructions to deepen the pose.

Queuing smiles to release those wonderful endorphins for happiness, relaxation, sukha /comfort in the poses.

My time is more than you see …

What is a yoga teacher? A perpetual student learning to create stillness and openness within self and others. A creator of a following you are proud to have envisioned and humbled to share.

What is a yoga teacher ? I am a unique individual ‘sharing what I love’

Gratitude for all who step into my class and walk away with peace in your heart and a yearning for more.

Namaste

(Class tomorrow 8am)

Leave a comment