Season Greetings & memories

Well, another year is coming to a close, which sees me looking back on what I have achieved, explored and marvelled at in this big wide world, and as I write, I reflect on grateful moments.

When I moved to this small Island in Southern Moreton Bay Australia just over 2 years ago, I smile at the memory of my husband and I turning to look at each other, both saying simultaneously “Yoga Studio!” Walking inside our house transported me to Bali with its calming Buddha wall art, bamboo sliding door and timber floors, which opened out into the tropical gardens looking through louvred windows, welcoming in the birdsongs and lapping water from passing boats. I have not looked back changing the location from the Community Hall, as my students inform me how much they enjoy entering through the garden of hanging vines, the sounds of trickling water and into the peaceful studio space.

In February / March I offered 200hr Yoga Teacher Training to deepen students yoga knowledge, which I held at Lamb Island Studio. A small group were introduced to Sanskrit, learning to teach a Yoga sequence, understanding Anatomy terms and meditation techniques.

In May – August I was once again onboard MV Cavallino III in the Pacific Islands which was the mother ship for our Down Under Rally – GO EAST Yacht Rally to New Caledonia & Vanuatu & Beyond. I relished the moments being back at sea, but It is not always peaceful inside the saloon, the organisers peace is only restored once all have arrived safely and events completed. We then share in the frivolity of sailor tales of varying sea conditions and experiences of first time ocean crossings onboard their vessels.

Prior to departing Australia from The Boatworks I enjoyed teaching Yoga Classes in the Captains Lounge to the rally participants. I always close practice with breath work and remind students to use at sea if unsettled conditions are stressful, and I’m happy to say at times a sailor will quietly share with me they used it to calm them down when needed.

Later this year saw me undertaking a different direction from Yoga which was the result of a resort I had contracted to over the years in the Pacific Islands. This direction was “Reformer Pilates Teacher Training.” I must admit at first I felt I was moving into the gym world which is not a favourite place of mine to be, but once I had attended a local studio which was tastefully designed with air conditioning, chandeliers and friendly staff, I was hooked.

What I didn’t anticipate whilst completing the online training and clocking up my participation hours for Barre Body Reformer Training, was I would roll into simultaneously studying with Studio Pilates Victoria Point. The Universe works in funny ways! I successfully passed both trainings which sees me being offered a casual position at the local studio commencing 10 January 2024.

As life offers changes in the Sailing world, selling our Down Under Rally in November, this does not change my love of the ocean and places I hold deep in my heart where Yoga teaching began, which will see me continue to offer Retreats.

Join me in 2024 at The Ultimate Yoga Getaway Fiji.

This Christmas I feel extremely grateful for all my students who have participated in classes and trainings at my Lamb Island studio, we have a caring community which I’m grateful for. I look forward to offering once again in 2024.

I wish you all a Peaceful and Happy Christmas, may you be blessed with health & surrounded by family & friends love.

Leanne x

P.s. Thank you for once again being invited to teach at

Women Who Sail Australia gathering on the bay.

“Treasure those who helped you along your journey in life”

Leanne Hembrow

Leave a comment